IHMRI affiliation

Theme:Diagnostics and therapeutics
Role:Affiliated Stakeholder Advisory Panel (ASAP)
Level:IHMRI Fellow

Research focus

  • Drug delivery/ development/ nanomedicine
  • Cancer biology
  • Neuropharmacology

Research projects

Publications and funding


  • CINSW TCRC CONCERT (Centre for Oncology Education & Research Training)
  • Australian Nanotechnology Network (ANN)
  • British Society for Nanomedicine
  • International Society for Fibrinolysis and Proteolysis
  • International Liposome Society
  • UOW Cancer Drug Discovery Group (co-founder)

Other roles

  • Director: Australian Chapter of the Controlled Release Society
  • Review Editor on the Editorial Board: Neurodegeneration for Frontiers in Neurology, Neuroscience and Psychiatry
  • Mentor: ASI Curious Minds STEM Program

IHMRI research team

Research assistants

Dr Liyu Chen E: liyu@uow.edu.au
Bryce Keenan E: bkeenan@uow.edu.au

PhD candidates

Samantha Wade Development and preclinical evaluation of implantable polymeric structures for local drug delivery in pancreatic cancer
Lisa Belfiore Development of dual functionalised drug-loaded liposomes to target advanced breast cancer
Daniel Brungs (co-supervised with Professor Marie Ranson) Biomarkers and Systemic Treatment in Gastrointestinal Cancers
Sepehr Talebian (co-supervised with Dr Javad Foroughi) Developing Drug Loaded Polymeric Coaxial Fibres as Smart Drug Delivery System