Support for your research

Every year IHMRI assists health and medical research in the region by providing a range of grants to academics, clinicians and health professionals.

Affiliated IHMRI researchers can access detailed information about funding opportunities on IHMRI’s Intranet (login required).

Research Assistant Clare Watson, Associate Professor Justin Yerbury and PhD candidate Rachelle Balez

Magnified Justin Yerbury Travel Scholarships

The inaugural Justin Yerbury Travel Scholarships aim to support the next-generation of researchers who are working towards a better future for people living with motor neurone disease (MND).

Four scholarships are available, and can be used to cover the costs of attending the MND Association’s International Symposium on MND/ALS.

Read more about the Travel Scholarships.

Publication of the Month Award

The new Publication of the Month Award (POMA) aims to recognise and celebrate the quality and impact of research performed by IHMRI affiliated researchers. Applications for the award are due on the last day of the month. The winner(s) will be announced at IHMRI Morning Teas.

Read more about the Publication of the Month Award (Intranet login required).

IHMRI Grants Program

Young Investigator Awards

The new Young Investigator Awards (YIA), which replace Career Development Grants, aim to encourage early career clinician, health professional or academic researchers (ECR) to develop their skills, expertise and research track records, which will ultimately generate research data to enable the ECR to apply for a future competitive grant as a Chief Investigator (CI). Four YIAs are available, worth up to $10,000 each.

Read more about eligibility requirements and how to apply (Intranet login required).

Clinical Translation Grants

The new Clinical Translation Grants (CTG), which replace Collaborative Project Grants, aim to encourage academic and health professional/clinician researchers to co-lead a research project to address regional and medically relevant health issues. Up to four CTGs are available, worth up to $30,000 each.

Read more about the eligibility requirements and how to apply (Intranet login required).

Dame Bridget Ogilvie Awards

These awards recognise, support and celebrate outstanding work by female researchers working in the Illawarra-Shoalhaven. Two awards are available annually, worth $3,000 each.

The awards are named in honour of our Patron, the renowned international scientist Dame Bridget Ogilvie.

Citation Award

The Citation Award recognises research excellence of an early or mid-career female researcher with demonstrably high impact in their field.

Clinical Excellence Award

The Clinical Excellence Award recognises clinical research excellence by an early to mid-career female researcher through a demonstrably significant contribution in their respective field of health or health care.

Miller Family Bridgetwater IHMRI Dementia Honours Scholarships

Kindly supported by local resident Mr Richard Miller, these scholarships provide students with an opportunity to develop skills and training in dementia research in the Illawarra. 

Read more about the Dementia Honours Scholarship

Near miss funding

Researchers who closely miss out on receiving grants from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and the Australian Research Council (ARC) may apply for IHMRI near miss funding.

Theme funding

IHMRI’s Research Themes may request funding for infrastructure costs such as consumables, training, hosting events, and other specific purposes.


Research Development Manager

Dr Richard Brown, PhD MBA

T: +61 2 4221 4240




Research Development Coordinator

Dr Jean Marshall, PhD

T: + 61 2 4298 1213




Research Development Administrator

Janine Tehovnik

T: +61 2 4221 8163