Dr Kate Croaker


Dr Kate Croaker is a Senior Clinical Neuropsychologist at Port Kembla Hospital. Her research interests include cognition in neurodegenerative conditions, cognition in chronic medical conditions and psychosocial difficulties in chronic medical conditions.

Dr Susan Thomas


Dr Susan Thomas works in UOW's School of Medicine. Her research focus is mental health, biological psychology and chronic disease. Her research team includes PhD students Jessica Mills and Asmahan Elgellaie.

Professor Frank Deane


Professor Frank Deane is the Director of the Illawarra Institute for Mental Health at UOW, focusing on mental health, addictions and health psychology. His IHMRI affiliated team includes Associate Researcher Russell Blackman, as well as PhD candidates, Atanas Janackovski, Elly…

Professor Nagesh Pai. Photo by Paul Jones.


Professor Nagesh Pai is Academic Leader of Psychiatry within the Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District. His research focus is psychopharmacology (antipsychotics related side effects), schizophrenia and medical education.

Professor Lorna Moxham


Professor Lorna Moxham works in UOW's School of Nursing. Her research interests are mental health nursing, mental illness and qualitative research methods. Her IHMRI research team includes Research Officer Amy Tapsell and PhD candidates Edward Aquin, Caroline Picton and Jane…


Distinguished Professor Xu-Feng Huang is the Director of the Centre for Translational Neuroscience at UOW, focusing on metabolism, neuroscience and gut microbiome. His research team includes PhD candidates Zehra Boz, Peng Zheng and Yuanyi Xie. Also on the team are…

Professor Barbara Meyer


Professor Barbara Meyer is Director of the Lipids Research Centre at UOW. She studies omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids and aggressive behaviour, lipid and fatty acid metabolism in healthy and complicated pregnancies, and effect of seaweed extract on the health of…

Professor Chao Deng


Professor Chao Deng is Head of the Antipsychotic Research Laboratory at UOW, focusing on neuroscience, psychopharmacology and metabolic disorders. His research team includes Research Fellows, Dr Jiamei Lian and Dr Mei Han, Research Assistant, Thomas Spunar, PhD candidate Michael De…

Professor Nadia Solowij. Photo by Paul Jones.


Professor Nadia Solowij works in the Australian Centre for Cannabinoid Clinical and Research Excellence at UOW, focusing on cannabis and cannabinoids, brain imaging and mental health. Her research team includes PhD candidate Camilla Beale and Research Fellows, Dr Samantha Broyd…

Professor Brin Grenyer


Senior Professor Brin Grenyer is the Director of Project Air Strategy for Personality Disorders at UOW, focusing on personality disorders, mental health, psychotherapy and psychological treatments. His IHMRI research team includes Research Fellow Kate Lewis, Clinical Coordinator Ely Marceau, Project…