Dr Peter Newton is the Clinical Director of Microbiology at Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District. His research interests include antimicrobial resistance surveillance, genetic mechanisms of antimicrobial resistance and evaluation of diagnostic tests for the rapid detection of antimicrobial resistance.

Dr Steven Craig


Dr Steven Craig is a general surgeon, sub-specialising in endocrine surgery and surgical oncology. He sees patients at his Nowra or Milton locations, operating at Wollongong Private Hospital, Nowra Private Hospital, Wollongong Hospital and Shoalhaven District Memorial Hospital. His research…

Dr Senthilkumar Gandhidasan


Dr Senthilkumar Gandhidasan is a Radiation Oncologist at the Illawarra Cancer Care Centre in Wollongong Hospital. His research interests include oncology, especially brain tumours, translational research and radiation therapy.

Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace


Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace is an Australian Laureate Fellow and Executive Research Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science. His research focus is medical bionics, nanotechnology and biocommunications.

Professor Marie Ranson


Professor Marie Ranson works in UOW's School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, Molecular Horizons, focusing on the cell and molecular biology of cancer, anti-cancer/anti-inflammation drug development and proteostasis. Her research team includes PhD candidates Umar Ali, Dr Bruce Ashford, Dr…

Distinguished Professor Nick Dixon. Photo by Paul Jones.


Distinguished Professor Nick Dixon is works in UOW's School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, Molecular Horizons, focusing on design principles for molecular machines, antibacterial drug discovery, as well as protein structure and function. His IHMRI research team includes Research Fellows…

Distinguished Professor Anatoly Rozenfeld. Photo by Paul Jones.


Distinguished Professor Anatoly Rozenfeld is the Director of the Centre for Medical Radiation Physics at UOW, focusing on radiation therapy for cancer. His Research staff include A/Professor Rodney Vickers, Dr George Takacs, Dr Yujin Qi, Dr Enbang Li, Dr Iolanda…

Distinguished Professor David J. Adams


Distinguished Professor David J. Adams is the Executive Director and CEO of IHMRI. His research focuses on investigating peptides derived from the venom of marine cone snails as a novel candidate for treating visceral pain. His IHMRI research team includes…

Professor Michael Lerch


Professor Michael Lerch works in the Centre of Medical Radiation Physics at UOW. His research focus is cancer diagnostic instrumentation and methods, radiation/radiotherapy and targeted radiotherapy. His IHMRI research team includes Research Fellow Dr Jeremy Davis, as well as PhD…

Van Oijen

Distinguished Professor Antoine van Oijen is the Director of Molecular Horizons at UOW. His research interests are single-molecule biophysics, protein machines responsible for DNA replication, and the molecular mechanisms of antimicrobial resistance. His IHMRI research team includes Research Fellows Dr…