Professor Renxian Tang (XZMU), Professor Alex Frino, Dr Yinghua Yu (XZMU) and Distinguished Professor Xu-Feng Huang

China delegation in Wollongong

IHMRI and the University of Wollongong (UOW) are set to expand the existing research collaboration with Xuzhou Medical University (XZMU) of China to achieve more outcomes in joint research and Higher Degree Research training over the next four years.

A delegation from XZMU visited IHMRI and UOW on 2 July 2018 to discuss a Memorandum of Understanding, joint/dual PhD programs, potential twinning programs in chemistry, and biotechnology and nursing.

XZMU recently accepted to be an international partner organisation, joining the UOW application for an ARC Centre of Excellence for Microbial Visualisation and Characterisation.

The XZMU delegation included the Vice Dean of Basic Medical Science, Xuzhou Medical University and Vice Dean, Jiangsu Key Lab of Immunity and Metabolism, XZMU, China, Professor Renxian Tang; the Vice Chair of Jiangsu Key Lab of Immunity and Metabolism, Xuzhou, China, Dr Yanxia Wei; and the Laboratory Manager of Jiangsu Key Lab of Immunity and Metabolism, XZMU, China, Dr Xiangyang Li.

The partnership has been championed since 2016 by IHMRI’s Distinguished Professor Xu-Feng Huang.

The delegation also met with the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Health and Community), Professor Alison Jones; Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Strategy), Professor Alex Frino; and the Associate Dean (International), Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health Professor Dianne Jolley.

Professor Xu-Feng Huang’s collaboration with XZMU has been funded by the UIC UOW-Chinese Medical University research and teaching network fund.

This collaboration has jointly published eight full research manuscripts, accepted two visiting research fellows to UOW, and hosted four delegations from the Senior Executive.

UOW is among several prestigious universities to have links with XZMU.

Others include Harvard Medical School, Tufts University, Singapore University, Tafus University, Yonsei University and the University of London.

Distinguished Professor Xu-Feng Huang said UOW was considered a favourite partner university because of the highly fruitful outcomes over the past three years including the production of a number of joint publications.

Established in 1958, XZMU is located in a historical cultural city Xuzhou, Jiangsu Province, Eastern part of China.

XZMU has three campuses over 73 hectares, 18 schools, 16 affiliated hospitals, more than 1,300 teaching and research employees, and about 14,000 students covering medical, health and science.

Top picture: Professor Renxian Tang (XZMU), Professor Alex Frino, Dr Yinghua Yu (XZMU) and Distinguished Professor Xu-Feng Huang

You may also like

Dr Jessica Nealon, Jessica Bresolin, Nicole Britten, Professor Val Wilson, Dr Hui Chen (Rita) Chang, Professor Victoria Traynor, Associate Professor Ping Yu. Photo by Paul Jones.
Funding for delirium research in the Illawarra
Magnified Justin Yerbury Travel Scholarship winners announced
Dr Yee Lian Chew at Soapbox Science on 10 August 2019 at Circular Quay.
Soapbox Science showcases diverse researchers